Quality urban living for an ageing population

Published Apr 7th 2015

The World Health Organisation has developed an age-friendly cities guide of “eight interconnected domains that can help to identify and address barriers to the well-being and participation of older people.”

The eight domains are:

  1. Community and healthcare
  2. Transport
  3. Housing
  4. Social participation
  5. Outdoor spaces and buildings
  6. Respect and social inclusion
  7. Civic participation and employment
  8. Communication and information

Age-friendly cities and communities “respond flexibly to ageing-related needs and preferences, respect older people’s decisions and lifestyle choices, and recognize the wide range of capacities and resources among older people.”

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *